~

The first time you came to me,

You shone with all the innocence of youth.

You didn’t overtake me; you became an ally.

From then on you were my means of escape.

~

The second time you came to me,

You were a handsome red-headed man.

Our passion burned so bright that over time, it turned into pain.

That’s when you inhabited me.

~

The third time was in a lions den,

Dozens of you, circling around.

You played like kittens, because you knew I’d stay.

That’s when it was fun.

~

The last time you really had me.

In an open grave, you were my casket.

This time I managed a scream, and the universe gave me wings.

That was when “we” ended.

~

The next time you come crawling back,

I’ll see you for what you really are.

Your porcelain shell masks worms in rotting flesh.

You have no place here.

Leave a Reply

