Hello, I’m Tylor Anton. And this is my first blog post. I am an actor and singer who has moved from the Alberta Prairies, to Toronto, and will now be moving to England. I’m just pursuing a dream, because it’s all I know how to do.

I was told by someone very dear to my heart that I should write a blog. To be honest, I have never even read a blog. I am a creative person who often lives in my own box outside of my professional and school life. That’s not to sound pretentious. It’s just how I live. This blog-writing… Or “blogging”, I guess… is a new experience for me. But I’m sure I’ll find a few things to say.

I just finished my 5th year of theatre studies, graduating from Randolph Academy last night. And this day opens a new chapter in my life. I am determined to make this chapter about believing in myself, my talent, and my own perspective as an artist. I am actually starting to believe that there is something very special about what I do. I guess you could call it a sense of pride. I love what I do, and a lot of other people do as well. It’s not narcissism. It’s just pride. And this is a revelation: It is okay to be proud.

The same person who told me I should be writing this once told me, “I love your humbleness.” That shocked me. I always felt confident about my work. But after being accepted into all of the international Master’s degree programs I applied for, being praised for my realistic portrayal of a character that was a true blessing to my life, and being approached by a casting director, I am putting the pieces together.

What if I can make a living out of doing what I love?
What if my undying passion and romantic sensibilities are actually leading me in the right direction?
What if people actually want to hear what I have to say?
What if
Maybe I am seen as humble because I have not glimpsed into the crystal ball that is my future.

Maybe other people see something special in me, and my perfectionism is only letting me see my flaws.

From this day forward, I will not apologize for voicing my beliefs. I am tired of being muffled by my own worries about what people might think about me. My individualism is what makes me powerful and beautiful. It is what makes me stand out. It is what has made me successful, and what will continue to do so.

That said, I will continue to hold onto the humbleness that other people see in me. I remember where I came from, and I have many people to thank for every fibre of my existence. My family raised me this way.

I come from a family of hard workers. They became wealthy through relentless determination and painstaking martyrdom.
Let’s talk about my family.
I’ll start with the beginning of the personal statement I made for my Master’s Programs.

“I don’t remember my mother leaving me. I just knew she wasn’t there. I remember staring at her picture on my grandma’s brass corner cabinet and being told excuses for why she couldn’t call on holidays. She came back when I was 6, which made it harder when she left again. She came back when I was 10 and we lived together for 2 years. That’s when I realized that my home was, and will always be with my grandparents.
My grandparents treated me like gold. I was the boy who sang too loudly in church and school. I enrolled in voice lessons, which my grandparents supported– even though grandpa wanted me to play soccer and baseball.
My first role was the innkeeper at the hotel where Jesus was born. I was barely 9 years old. I have few memories from this time, but I remember bits of the songs from that show.
After I left my mom, I moved back in with my grandparents at 12. They did not accept me, being that I’m gay. I fell in love, and moved in with Jesse at 14, and we lived in a tent, three motels, and a series of houses and apartments. I partied quite a bit, dropped out of school, and later took courses to get into MacEwan University, where I studied Theatre Arts. ”

Bless their hearts. Every day of my life is filled with hope and inspiration because of these 2 human beings who continue to believe in me. The sacrifice that they have made and continue to make is so special that I am having trouble putting it into words, cue the clunky phrasing.

They are here in Toronto right now, and I am on my way to see them. We are going to take the ferry to the beach. I am going to England on the 30th, and I may not see them for a year, or more. Wow… Let’s make this day count.
Thank you for listening.

3 thoughts on “Post Number One!

  1. Tylor . When Cora-Lee brought you home.with her and I met you as a young teenager…I knew you were special. I told Cora then you were very talented and had the drive to succeed. I am so proud of you! You followed your dreams and conquered whatever obstacle got in your way. Love always Rose (Mom) XOXO

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

